ICS 2010 Call for Papers

The First Symposium on Innovations in Computer Science (ICS 2010) will be held in Beijing, China, January 5-7, 2010, with a welcome reception on January 4.

Innovations in Computer Science (ICS) is a new conference in theoretical computer science, broadly construed. ICS seeks to promote research that carries a strong conceptual message (e.g., introducing a new concept or model, opening a new line of inquiry within traditional or cross-disciplinary areas, or introducing novel techniques or novel applications of known techniques). ICS welcomes all submissions whether they are aligned with the current TCS research directions or transcend these boundaries.

ICS is a public conference designed to run in a workshop-like environment. The conference will run for two-and-a-half days. The total number of papers will be around 30, so as to allow for ample time for open and one-on-one discussions and exchanges of ideas.

Proceedings: The conference proceedings containing all the accepted papers will be published by the Tsinghua University Press, Beijing.

Discussion Panels: To enhance the interaction, comprehension and impact of the presentations, ICS shall have organized interactive discussions about the papers. The discussions will be moderated by panels in which the panelists will offer their own perspective and reflections regarding the main conceptual messages of these papers.

Abstract Submission: Authors are required to submit their extended abstracts in pdf format electronically. The submission server, starting August 15, 2009, is accessible through the following link http://conference.itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/ICS2010/submissions/

Submission format: The extended abstract should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address. Excluding the title page and bibliography, the extended abstract should not exceed ten (standard size) pages using 11-point or larger font, with ample spacing and margins all around. More details may be given in an appendix, but any material beyond the 10-page limit will be read at the discretion of the Program Committee. The program committee may, at its discretion, contact the authors with requests for clarification or further information.

Submission deadline: September 15, 2009 Notification of acceptance date: November 1, 2009 Camera-ready deadline: November 15, 2009

Conference: January 5-7, 2010

Web site: http://www.itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/ICS2010/

Simultaneous Submissions: Material that has been previously published (in journal or conference) or is currently under submission to another conference will not be considered for acceptance at ICS 2010.

Financial Support for ICS 2010: ITCS will provide full support for one author of each accepted paper, including economy-class air tickets, hotel lodging, and registration fee. In addition, ITCS will also award some travel grants to some graduate students interested in attending ICS. (The number and amount will be determined based on availability of funds.) Please consult the ICS 2010 web site for the procedure to apply for student travel grants.

Poster Sessions: In addition to the above regular papers, ICS welcomes posters on work that authors wish to bring to the attention of the attendees, including work that has been, or will be, published elsewhere. The posters will not appear in the published proceedings of the conference, but will be on display throughout the conference. There will be a dedicated session during which authors will be present to discuss their posters. Depending on the number of poster submissions, these may be screened for acceptance. Instructions for poster submissions may be found at http://conference.itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/ICS2010/posters/

Program Committee

Andrew Yao (Chair), Tsinghua University
Michael Ben-Or, Hebrew University
Avrim Blum, Carnegie-Mellon University
Cynthia Dwork, Microsoft Research, Silicon Valley
Shafi Goldwasser, MIT and Weizmann Institute of Science
Michael Kearns, University of Pennsylvania
Sanjeev Khanna, University of Pennsylvania
Ming Li, University of Waterloo
Christos Papadimitriou, University of California, Berkeley
Rafael Pass, Cornell University
Nir Shavit, Tel Aviv University
Vijay Vazirani, Georgia Institute of Technology

Local Arrangements Committee

Yuexuan Wang (Chair), Tsinghua University Christophe Tartary, Tsinghua University Xiang Li, Tsinghua University

Steering Committee

Sanjeev Arora, Manuel Blum, Bernard Chazelle, Oded Goldreich, Shafi Goldwasser, Richard Karp, Silvio Micali, Christos Papadimitriou, Michael Rabin, Madhu Sudan, Leslie Valiant, Umesh Vazirani, Avi Wigderson, Andrew Yao